14 March 2007
Courage Awards for Women Journalists

The International Women's Media Foundation (IWMF) is seeking nominations from around the world for its 2007 Courage in Journalism Awards and Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Courage in Journalism Awards honor women working in the news media who have demonstrated extraordinary strength of character in pursuing their profession under difficult or dangerous circumstances.

These women show a commitment to journalism exemplified by a willingness to continually put their lives or their freedom at risk to produce a body of work in the face of government oppression, political pressure, physical danger or other intimidating obstacles.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a woman journalist who has a pioneering spirit and whose determination has paved the way for future generations of women in the media. Recipients also demonstrate a strong commitment to freedom of the press and a solid record of accomplishments in journalism.

The IWMF will present three women journalists with Courage in Journalism Awards and one woman journalist with the Lifetime Achievement Award at ceremonies in October/November 2007 in New York City and Los Angeles. The awardees will spend approximately two weeks in the United States, as guests of the IWMF, making appearances at these ceremonies and other events, and participating in press interviews. Each awardee will receive a cash award of at least $5,000.

One of the last year winners was May Chidiac, one of the best known faces on Lebanese television. In September 2005, she lost her left hand and left leg as a result of a bomb exploding under the driver's seat of her car. She believes the attack came as a result of her criticism of Syria's involvement in Lebanon.

Founded in 1990, the IWMF is a non-profit, non-partisan organization whose mission is to strengthen the role of women in the news media worldwide. Awardees are selected by a committee of IWMF board members, journalists or others serving at the pleasure of the board.

Eligible candidates: For both awards, candidates can be full-time, part-time or freelance women journalists working in print, broadcast or online media in any country. For the Courage Awards, candidates employed by organizations whose main objective is not journalism will not be considered for this award. Candidates for the Lifetime Achievement Award can be retired journalists.

To nominate a journalist: Please note that self-nominations are not accepted.  Candidates may be nominated by colleagues, employers, journalists or others. All nominations must be in English and include:

* Completed nomination forms (available at http://www.iwmf.org/courage/nominate.php)

* Nomination statement completed by a professional associate

* Brief biography of the candidate highlighting her work as it relates to the Courage in Journalism Awards or the Lifetime Achievement Award

* Resume or CV of the candidate

* Examples of the candidate's work (details on the nomination form)

* Two letters of support from professional associates

Deadline: Completed nominations, including all supporting documents, must be received by the IWMF no later than March 15, 2007.  Nominations can be submitted by regular mail, courier service, fax or e-mail.  Winners will be announced in May 2007.

For more information:  Please contact Elisa Munoz, Director of Programs, IWMF

1625 K Street, NW, Suite 1275 , Washington, DC 20006, USA .  Tel. +1 (202) 496-1992, fax +1 (202) 496-1977, E-mail: courage@iwmf.org