Newsletter No 1 28 September 2005
Arab Submissions Encouraged for Lorenzo Natali Prize for Journalism

Arab journalists who have written and published an article on human rights and or/democracy between 1 January 2004 and 31 August 2005, are encouraged to submit their work for a chance to win the prestigious Natali Prize for Journalism. Three prizes will be awarded in each of the following regions:

- Europe (EU Members States, states of central and eastern Europe and Mediterranean states)
- Africa
- The Arab World, Iran and Israel
- Asia and the Pacific
- Latin America and the Caribbean
The Lorenzo Natali Prize is open to print and on-line journalists employed by local media worldwide. Submissions may be in any of the following languages: English, French, Portuguese, Arabic, Spanish or German.
All prize nominees will be special guests of the European Commission at the Lorenzo Natali prize-giving ceremony in Brussels in January 2006. Each prize winner will receive a trophy and a financial award according to the following contribution: 1st Prize - 5,000 euro, 2nd Prize - 2,500 euro, 3rd Prize - 1,500 euro.

An additional 5,000 euro grand prize will be awarded for the best overall article.
For more information, contact

Deadline:  31 October 2005