Newsletter No 25 11 April 2006
Last Entries for the Samir Kassir Award for MEDA Journalists

The Delegation of the European Commission in Lebanon and the Samir Kassir Foundation are calling for the last entries for the Samir Kassir Award for freedom of the press that aims to perpetuate the Lebanese journalist’s memory, murdered in June 2005.

The prizes have two different categories, one for journalists and the other for students born before 2 June 1980.

The journalism award is open to broadcast, print and online media journalists from one of the MEDA countries whose work has been published or broadcasted in one of those countries or in one of the European Union states between 1 January 2005 and 2 June 2006. Reports submitted must be related to the rule of the law.

Applicants can submit entries for just one category and team works will not be accepted. For print and online categories, entries must not exceed 20,000 words. Broadcasted entries cannot exceed 40 minutes for radio and 52 for TV reports.

The winner will receive 15,000 euros.

For the young researchers award, applicants must come form a MEDA country and registered in a public or private university in one of the 35 EU and MEDA countries. They will have to submit a research document addressing the rule of law or freedom of the press and carried out in 2004 or 2005. Applications must be individual.

The winner will receive 10,000 euros.

MEDA countries are: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Palestinian Territories, Syria and Tunisia.

Deadline is 15 April 2006.

For further information, please contact