17 May 2007
Latest News:
Bastiat Prize for Journalism 2007

The Bastiat Prize is available to writers publishing works eloquently and wittily elucidating the institutions of a free society and has attracted over 250 entrants from 49 countries around the world. The winners of this year's prize are decided by a panel of judges chosen for their commitment and work advancing the institutions of free societies. Previous judges have included Lady Thatcher, James Buchanan and Milton Friedman. This year's panel includes the former British Chancellor of the Exchequer, Lord Lawson of Blaby, and Professor Vernon Smith, winner of the 2002 Nobel Prize for economics.

The prize carries with it an award of USD $15,000, to be divided between First, Second and Third placed winners. Entries are open until 30 June 2007 and may be submitted by email, fax, post or through the website submission form http://www.policynetwork.net/main/bastiat_entry.php

For more information and a complete set of rules and judging criteria, please browse Bastiat Prize website at http://www.bastiatprize.org.